Houston Underground 2020 Winners

Congratulations to all participants of the 2020 Houston Underground Online Competition!

2020 winners:

  • 1st place - GianCarlo Lay
  • 2nd place - Dean Haynes
  • 3rd place - Peyton Joffre
  • 4th place - Brandon Sanchez


  • Ethan Ashley
  • Jacob Brockett
  • Samuel Dishan
  • Josh Flores
  • Kyle Kato
  • Drew Wilson

Special thanks to our 2020 judges:

  • Otis Murphy
  • Jess Voigt-Page
  • Robert Young

Houston Underground Competition

Houston Underground is the largest - and most awesome - amateur saxophone competition for high school and junior high students in the country. Since 2008, Houston Underground has been a platform for student musicians to refine their art, broadcast their skills, collaborate with other players, and explore new repertoire, all in an exciting and fun environment. Supported by top saxophone companies and frequented by some of the best professional players in the country, we strive to be a defining and supportive event in the development of hundreds of young musicians.




Winners announced
Friday, May 1, 2020

Sponsored by:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Flickr

Hosted by the Moores School of Music
At The University of Houston
3333 Cullen Blvd, Houston, TX 77004